First Horn Player Encounter!

Jonathan, the fantastic horn player who I met today, is super good and equally as nice.

He was the first horn player that I have met in Helsinki. I saw him performing in a brass quintet, and they were playing a Jazzy Piece πŸ˜€ HORNS CAN PLAY JAZZ, EVEN IN FINLAND! After their number was over I went and talked to him, and as it turns out , Jonathan goes to the Sibelius Academy and I might be playing with him during this semester if my audition goes well and I am accepted into the orchestra or band πŸ™‚ Also, today I talked to, Esa Tapani, (my horn professor) on the phone for the first time and he was incredibly nice. I have a Lesson with him TOMORROW ! πŸ˜€ Today was also the day I received my audition music from the Sibelius Academy for my audition on Thursday! Turns out the audition material was the Tchaikovsky’s 5th symphony, with the beautiful horn solo in it, and my favorite excerpt!

Now information on the Sibelius Academy: http://www.siba.fi/en/home – There are three campuses for it. One of the campuses is in their brand new music hall. The Finnish Radio Symphony Uses the Music Center for their concerts, and the Sibelius Academy also uses the same hall. I love how a symphony and a music school can share the same space. It is beautiful! I will post pictures of it so you can see how stunning it is. Their second campus is Β one block east of the music center. Their last campus is 1 Kilometer northeast of the Music Center. To all you Lamont Students out there: We ARE SO LUCKY to have all of our classes in one place! The music hall is right on the water, so not only is it a gorgeous hall on the inside but its location is surrounded by the sea with many full flower beds filled with impeccable shade plants. ( shade plants thrive in Finland, because their climate has the perfect conditions for rapid growth… when it is warm and has sun) πŸ˜€ More info. soon to come about Sibelius Academy.

Funny story of what happened to me today: Today at University of Helsinki there was a school club festival, where all of the clubs approved by the school had booths and tables set out promoting themselves. All of their signs were in Finnish….. I don’t read finnish yet. haha I was trying to get to this one table because they had cookies πŸ˜€ and they were giving them out for free. I thought that this had to be a cooking club, and I really wanted to join so I could learn more about Finnish cooking πŸ™‚ Well it turns out it was the Gay and Lesbian club instead. Lol. So much for a cooking club. ;P Also last night I locked my self out of my dorm… cost me 20 euro to get into it 😦 haha. I won’t be losing my keys again.

When was the last time you tried something New?

-Elizabeth

About elizabethfairey

I am an enthusiast of every thing that has to do with the Arts, Humanities, and the OutDoors! This Blog will help me Document my time in Helsinki Finland.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment